program remains in memory

The Tuniac forum.
TheDutchJewel
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:02 pm

program remains in memory

Post by TheDutchJewel » Mon May 26, 2014 4:43 am

If I close Tuniac (File -> Exit) the program still remains in memory. Can this be fixed?
thedutchjewel.defcon5.biz

Brett
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:36 am

Re: program remains in memory

Post by Brett » Mon May 26, 2014 10:37 am

This has been a long standing bug I could never find, but I think I got it finally. Maybe fixed in 140526.

It was looking at what fields you can sort/filter/edit that made me notice the problem, all stemming from you not being able to sort extensions!

TheDutchJewel
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:02 pm

Re: program remains in memory

Post by TheDutchJewel » Mon May 26, 2014 1:53 pm

Brett wrote:This has been a long standing bug I could never find, but I think I got it finally. Maybe fixed in 140526.
I just tried build 140526, but the problem still exists.
thedutchjewel.defcon5.biz

Brett
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:36 am

Re: program remains in memory

Post by Brett » Mon May 26, 2014 11:29 pm

Aww, I was so hopeful I had found the problem, well I did find a problem just not this problem.

Tuniac has never had an issue closing on any of my machines. Right now I can test with Windows XP SP3 on my laptop, Windows 7 on my laptop and Windows 8.1 on my desktop. In the past Windows Vista.
Other users also don't have the issue.

So far it's you and 1 other user that has the problem. I know the problem is real I am just struggling to reproduce the problem :(


It would be great if I could know more about your PC.
Windows version including any service packs? Eg Windows 7 SP1
Soundcard and driver version? Eg Asus Xonar D1, 8.1.8.1822 11/12/2013
Videocard and driver version? Eg Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti, 9.18.13.3788 19/05/2014


Oh also just a sanity check you have not enabled "Minimize on close" in the options?

TheDutchJewel
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:02 pm

Re: program remains in memory

Post by TheDutchJewel » Tue May 27, 2014 4:47 pm

OS:
- Win7 Home Premium SP1

Videocard:
- AMD Radeon HD 5570, driver version v14.100.0.0 (AMD Catalyst Software Suite v14.4)

Soundcard:
- VIA High Definition Audio, driver version 6.0.10.1200

Note:
1. I tested it also on another pc (Win7SP1 + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 videocard and Realtek High Definition Audio ALC888 soundcard): no problem there
2. "Minimize on close" in the options is disabled
thedutchjewel.defcon5.biz

Brett
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:36 am

Re: program remains in memory

Post by Brett » Tue May 27, 2014 11:17 pm

I will test with a PC with an AMD Radeon GPU today and see what I get.

Is that VIA HD Audio integrated onboard your motherboard?
What motherboard do you have?

If you do not know your motherboard version a simply way to get it would be with something like CPUZ under the mainboard section.
http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/1.69-setup-en.exe

TheDutchJewel
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:02 pm

Re: program remains in memory

Post by TheDutchJewel » Wed May 28, 2014 5:08 am

ASUS P7H55-USB3 Rev 1.xx mainboard with integrated VIA HD Audio.
thedutchjewel.defcon5.biz

Brett
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:36 am

Re: program remains in memory

Post by Brett » Wed May 28, 2014 10:49 am

Can you tell me if a 140528 novis build can close correctly? These builds remove the visual window. I think this is some issue with AMD GPU and OpenGL.

http://wasteofcash.com/Tuniac/

TheDutchJewel
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:02 pm

Re: program remains in memory

Post by TheDutchJewel » Wed May 28, 2014 11:54 am

Brett wrote:Can you tell me if a 140528 novis build can close correctly?
Yes, this one closes correctly. :)
thedutchjewel.defcon5.biz

Brett
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:36 am

Re: program remains in memory

Post by Brett » Wed May 28, 2014 12:25 pm

So I am on the right path.

I just had another user with AMD GPU on Windows 7 and Tuniac closes fine on his PC. I will try to work out what is happening!

Post Reply